Raucous Beethoven meets

modern Australian chamber

works for flute and piano.


Presented in association with Southern Cross Soloists

Ludwig van Beethoven

Rondo a Capriccio Op.129

Serenade in D Major Op. 41

Paul Dean

Falling Ever Deeper

Lisa Cheney

Commissioned work for flute and piano

Jonathan Henderson, flute

Alex Raineri, piano

Sunday June 13, 3pm

Old Hall

Toowoomba Grammar School

     24 Margaret Street, Toowoomba

map >

Duration: 60 min, no interval


Single tickets

Adult $35

 Concession $30

 Student $20

 Child $15


Modern Australian works for flute and piano collide with boisterous Beethoven, as young soloists Alex Raineri and Jonathan Henderson continue their ongoing collaboration with an exuberant recital of music bursting with inventiveness and imagination.


A commotion of childish tantrums unfurls in Beethoven’s Rondo a Capriccio Op.129 (better known as The Rage over the Lost Penny), twisting and turning unapologetically in a heavy-handed romp over the keys.


Alongside a special commissioned work by Melbourne-based composer Lisa Cheney, Paul Dean’s Falling Ever Deeper escalates virtuosity to new heights.


A joyous offshoot of the 18th Century divertimento tradition, Beethoven’s Serenade in D Major Op. 41 promises to delight with its joyful disposition – a spritely march, skipping presto and closing contredanse all dazzle with excitement.