Flute, viola and harp trios

for the digital age.

Presented in association with Southern Cross Soloists

Claude Debussy

Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp


Tōru Takemitsu

And Then I Knew ‘Twas Wind


Tristan Coelho

Commissioned work for Flute, Viola and Harp and live electronics


Jonathan Henderson, flute

James Wannan, viola

Emily Granger, harp

Sunday May 23, 3pm

St Luke’s Hall

152 Herries St, Toowoomba

map >

Duration: 60 min, no interval


Single tickets

Adult $35

 Concession $30

 Student $20

 Child $15




In a recital of tranquil dreams, pastoral scenes and fragmented recollections, the sumptuous combination of flute, viola and harp unites three exciting, young soloists – Emily Granger, Jonathan Henderson and James Wannan.


Imbued with flickers of light, Debussy’s second sonata is told in a fragrant language of ambiguity and fleeting suggestion. In a masterful display of timbral manipulation, Japanese composer Tōru Takemitsu pays homage to Debussy with his own trio And then I knew 'twas Wind – a musical depiction of the human subconscious played out across interconnected musical episodes.


Featuring a special commissioned work by Sydney-based composer Tristan Coelho, the intriguing addition of live electronics expands the scope of this unique instrumental combination, awakening us from a fantasy dreamscape into a digital reality.