Baroque masterworks in an intimate setting.

Presented in association with Southern Cross Soloists

Johann Sebastian Bach

Cello Suite No. 3 in C Major BWV 1009

Oboe Sonata in G minor BWV 1020

Flute Sonata in B minor BWV 1030

Trio Sonata in G major BWV 1039

Katherine Philp, cello

Jonathan Henderson, flute

Tania Frazer, oboe

Alex Raineri, harpsichord

Friday April 2, 3pm

St Luke’s Hall

152 Herries St, Toowoomba

map >

Duration: 60 min, no interval


Single tickets

Adult $35

 Concession $30

 Student $20

 Child $15


Imbued with unparalleled inventiveness, the music of Johann Sebastian Bach has a universal resonance which speaks to all humanity. Jonathan Henderson–flute,

Tania Frazer–oboe, Katherine Philp–cello and Alex Raineri–harpsichord form an intimate quartet, offering a recital of quintessential works from the baroque period.


With its triumphant, sympathetic scales welcoming with open arms, the Suite No. 3 in C Major BWV 1009 promises an unforgettable listening experience across six resplendent baroque dances for unaccompanied cello. In contrast with its big sister BWV 1030, the Sonata in G minor BWV 1020 is well-known in oboe circles as the ‘little G minor sonata’. Synonymously interpreted by flutists and oboists alike, the work’s long-disputed authenticity succumbs to its irresistible, unctuous flow of melodic interchange.


Bach's Sonata for Flute in B minor BWV 1030 creates a feeling of endless-ness, and profound inevitability in a constellation of weaving, codependent lines–here soloistic writing for the flute is met with the harpsichord as an equal partner, with a final three-voice-fugue sharp with witty syncopations and demanding technicality.


Persistently regal across stately adagios, the Trio Sonata in G major BWV 1039 eventually gives way to a joyful, warming presto in all its majesty, promising a finale of profound contemplation in full quartet setting.




This project has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body.

This project is supported by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland.



This project is presented in association with Southern Cross Soloists